Here are the big winners at the BET Hip Hop Awards 2018 | Yo! MTV Raps

17 October 2018

This year's BET Hip Hop Awards was no stranger to controversy, and it was mainly boiled down to one rapper: Vic Mensa, and his ongoing crusade aiming the late XXXTentacion.

In the awards cypher, recorded weeks ago and screened at the ceremony — which took place on Tuesday, October 16th — Vic rapped about XXXTentacion and his history of violent crimes: "Only time you bear arms is in a wife beater, loser/Your favorite rapper's a domestic abuser".

The ceremony was taped earlier this month, and in attendance was XXXTentacion's mother Cleopatra Bernard — to whom Mensa publicly apologized, unaware she would be there to accept her son's posthumous award.

You can watch the entire cypher here, including Vic's scorching segment.

On the awards side, Drake was at the forefront with 11 nods, but Cardi B ended up the triumphant winner with four prizes and a performance for the ages.

Here's the full list of nominees and winners.

Best Hip-Hop Video
Cardi B - "I Like It" feat. Bad Bunny & J Balvin​
Childish Gambino - "This Is America" (winner)
Drake - "God's Plan"
Kendrick Lamar – "Loyalty" feat. Rihanna
Migos - "Walk It Talk It" feat. Drake

Hot Ticket Performer
Cardi B
Childish Gambino
Drake (winner)
Kendrick Lamar
Travis Scott

Album of the Year
Cardi B - Invasion of Privacy
Drake – Scorpion
J. Cole – KOD
Migos - Culture II
The Carters - Everything Is Love (winner)

Video Director of the Year
Benny Boom
Dave Meyers & The Little Homies
Director X
Eif Rivera
Hiro Murai
Karena Evans (winner)

Lyricist of the Year
Childish Gambino
J. Cole
Kendrick Lamar (winner)
Travis Scott

MVP of the Year
Cardi B (winner)
Childish Gambino
J. Cole
Travis Scott

Producer of the Year
Ben Billions
DJ Esco
DJ Mustard
Metro Boomin
Pharrell Williams (winner)

Best Collabo, Duo or Group
21 Savage & Offset & Metro Boomin - "Ric Flair Drip"
Blocboy JB - "Look Alive" feat. Drake
Cardi B - "I Like It" feat. Bad Bunny & J Balvin
Post Malone – "Rockstar" feat. 21 Savage
The Carters – "Apes**t" (winner)

Single of the Year
"Apesh*t" - Produced by Pharrell — The Carters (winner)
"God's Plan" - Produced by Cardo, Young Exclusive and Boi-1da — Drake
"I Like It" - Produced by Craig Kallman, JWhiteDidIt and Tainy — Cardi B Feat. Bad Bunny & J Balvin
"Nice for What" - Produced by Murda Beatz — Drake
"This Is America" - Produced by Donald Glover & Ludwig Goransson — Childish Gambino

Best New Hip Hop Artist
Blocboy JB
Juice WRLD
Lil Baby
Rich the Kid
XXXTentacion (winner)

Best Mixtape
BlocBoy JB – Simi (winner)
Future - Beast Mode 2
Juicy J – Shut Da F* Up
Lil Wayne - Dedication 6: Reloaded
Zoey Dollaz - Sorry Not Sorry

Sweet 16: Best Featured Verse
21 Savage - "Bartier Cardi" (Cardi B feat. 21 Savage)
Cardi B - "Motorsport" (Migos feat. Cardi B & Nicki Minaj) (winner)
Drake - "Look Alive" (Blocboy JB feat. Drake) 
Kendrick Lamar - "New Freezer" (Rich the Kid feat. Kendrick Lamar)
Nicki Minaj - "Big Bank" (YG feat. 2 Chainz, Big Sean & Nicki Minaj)

Impact Track
Childish Gambino - "This Is America" (winner)
Dej Loaf & Leon Bridges - "Liberated"
Lecrae - "I'll Find You" feat. Tori Kelly
Meek Mill – "Stay Woke" feat. Miguel
N.E.R.D - "1,000" feat. FUTURE

DJ of the Year
Calvin Harris
DJ Envy
DJ Drama
DJ Khaled (winner)
DJ Mustard

Made-You-Look Award (Best Hip Hop Style)
Cardi B (winner)
Nicki Minaj
Remy Ma
Travis Scott

Best Hip Hop Online Site/App
Hot New Hip Hop
Worldstar (winner)

Hustler of the Year
Cardi B (winner)
DJ Khaled 
Jay Z
Kendrick Lamar
Travis Scott

Hit up the official Yo! MTV Raps page for more hip-hop content.


latest news

Interview: Richard Russell of XL Recordings shares details on making new ‘Everything Is Recorded’ album


Vans Musicians Wanted champs 999999999 and Shahrae on their big wins


Thirsty for awesome new music? Meet the finalists of Vans Musicians Wanted 2019!


Weird Genius set to strike CS:GO esport event at MTV Spotlight concert in Jakarta | Got Game

Got Game

CS:GO Pros Ramona Azween & Impression on making your shot count | Got Game

Got Game

Easy to pick up, hard to master: the basics of Counter-Strike: Global Offensive | Got Game

Got Game

Counter-Strike: Global Offensive’s esport scene has withstood the test of time | Got Game

Got Game

Thailand’s godfather of hip hop Daboyway on the scene’s evolution and his love for film | Yo! MTV Raps exclusive interview